We Are Celebrating 50 Years of Opportunity

We stand at a pivotal moment in Virginia as our communities and economy are undergoing dramatic change – a fact that is embraced by Virginia’s Community Colleges. For 50 years, the community college system has played a key role in the state’s modernization. In 2017, we are celebrating our tremendous gains, while enthusiastically looking ahead to the profound difference community colleges will make in Virginia’s new economy over the next half-century.

SEE HOW FAR WE’VE COME. Check out our historic timeline to see a brief overview of just how far we’ve come since the Virginia Community College System was created in 1966.

Virginia Community College's 50th Anniversary

Tribute video played at the 50th Gala.


Making Higher Education More Achievable
VCCS Annual Report
VCCS Summary Report
How Tomorrow Happens

Thank you

to our generous supporters

Ms. Nancy Howell Agee
Ms. Shahnaz Ahmed
Dr. Edna V. Baehre-Kolovani
Bank of America
Mr. Lance Billiard
Mrs. Nancy H. Bolio
Mr. and Mrs. Arthur S. Brinkley III
Ms. Katherine Butler
Mr. Harry F. Byrd III
Mr. Thomas Cantone and Ms. Mary Evans
Capital Results
Dr. and Mrs. John Capps
Carilion Clinic
Dr. John Cavan
Cedar Mountain Stone Corporation
Chemung Contracting Corporation
Mr. Hank Chao
Cole & Denny Architects
Mr. Darren Conner
Ms. Mary Ann Conrad
Dr. Elizabeth Crowther
Ms. Pam Currey
Mr. Joseph and Dr. Linda Daniel
Mr. Jack and Dr. Ellen Davenport
The Honorable John J. “Butch” Davies III
The Honorable Alan A. Diamonstein
William D. Dolan III
Dr. and Mrs. John A. Downey
Dominion Resources
Dr. Glenn DuBois
Ms. LaVonne Ellis
Dr. and Mrs. J. Mark Estepp
Ms. Angela Falconetti
Ms. Idalia Fernandez
Drs. Brian and Catherine Finnegan
Ms. Natalie Foster
Admiral and Mrs. Robert Fountain
Mr. W. Haywood Fralin
Mrs. Barbara Fried
Mr. Fred W. and Dr. Jennifer Gentry
Mr. and Mrs. George Gilliam
Mr. and Mrs. Marvin Gilliam
Gold Key | PHR
Dr. Susan Gooden and The Honorable Basil Gooden

Mr. and Mrs. Mark Graham
The John and Amy Griffin Foundation, Inc.
Mr. Irving Groves
Mr. Edwin C. Hall in memory of Glenna H. Hall
Dr. Dana B. Hamel
Mr. and Mrs. Gary Hancock
The Honorable Eva T. Hardy
Ms. D. Susan Hayden
Mr. John T. “Til” Hazel Jr.
W. A. Hazel Inc.
Dr. Megan Healy
Mrs. Dorcas Helfant-Browning
Dr. and Mrs. Craig Herndon
Mr. and Mrs. Ronald Holmes
Huntington Ingalls
Dr. Richard E. Jenkins
Mr. Stephen and Dr. Barbara Johnsen
Mr. Scott Kemp
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Kincheloe
Mr. and Mrs. Charles King
Mr. Mark Kington
Ms. Chandra D. Lantz
The Honorable and Mrs. Aubrey Layne
Dr. Chris Lee
Dr. and Mrs. Jack Lewis
Mr. and Mrs. Henry Light
Ms. Anne R. McCaffrey
Dr. Michael McCall
Mrs. Rosamond McCarty
Mr. Whit Madere
Mr. David Mair
Mrs. Violet Martin
Mary Washington Healthcare
Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Meyer
MEB General Contractors
Mr. and Mrs. G. Gilmer Minor III
Mr. Jeffrey W. Mitchell
Mr. and Mrs. Jeffery K. Mitchell
Mrs. Marlene Mondziel
Ms. Gaye Montgomery
Ms. Elizabeth Moran

Dr. Sharon Morrissey
Mr. Cliff Mosby
Moseley Architects / Dr. Stewart D. Roberson
Old Dominion University
The Honorable and Mrs. L. F. Payne
Ms. Karen Petersen
Dr. Ron Proffitt
Dr. Edward “Ted” Raspiller
University of Richmond
Ms. Mary C. Rohas
Dr. David A. Sam
Dr. and Mrs. Robert Sandel
Mr. and Mrs. Laurens Sartoris
Ms. Greer Saunders
Mr. William Darrell Scruggs Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. D. French Slaughter III
Dr. and Mrs. Dean Sprinkle
Mr. Paul Sweet
Dr. John Sygielski
Mr. William Talley III
Ms. Terri Thompson / State Farm
Dr. Cheryl Thompson-Stacy
Dr. Margaret Toxopeus
Dr. and Mrs. Francis Turnage
Mr. and Mrs. Jon VanCleave
Dr. and Mrs. George Vaughan
University of Virginia
Ms. Marcia Webb
Wells Fargo Advisors
Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Whitt
Dr. and Mrs. F. David Wilkin
Mr. and Mrs. F. Blair Wimbush
Mr. Roy and Dr. Susan Wood
Dr. Ann Woolford
Mr. John O. “Dubby” Wynne

And Our 23 Community College Educational Foundations

We Want to Hear Your Story

Name (first and last)

E-mail address


Tell us about it